New Directions in Analyzing Text as Data Workshop (2013)

5 minute read

New Directions in Analyzing Text as Data Workshop (2013)

Schedule: Version 26 September  2013

London School of Economics and Political Science

Friday, September 27, 2012, 8:30 – Saturday, September 28, 2012, 17:00

For registered participants only

Venue: New Academic Building, Lincoln’s Inn Fields, lower level room NAB.LG.03

Part of an annual event jointly sponsored by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science at Harvard University and the Ford Center for Global Citizenship at Northwestern University, this year’s event will take place in London, hosted by the Department of Methodology of the LSE.  These conferences are co-organized by Ken Benoit (PI on the QUANTESS [Quantitative Analysis of Textual Data for Social Sciences] project at LSE), Daniel Diermeier (two previous conferences at Kellogg), and Arthur Spirling (“New Directions in Text Analysis” at Harvard).  Last year this conference took place at Harvard, and next year is scheduled to take place at Kellogg.

FRIDAY

BREAKFAST, COFFEE AND REGISTRATION (Friday, 8:30-9:00)

OPENING REMARKS: Ken Benoit (9:00-9:15)

1) POLICY ANALYSIS FROM TEXTUAL DATA (9:15-10:45AM)

Discussants: Justin Gross and Will Lowe

COFFEE BREAK (10:45-11:00AM)

2) EFFECTS FROM TEXTS (11:00-12:30PM)

Discussants: Andrew Martin and Kevin Quinn

LUNCH (12:30-1:30PM)

3) NEW APPLICATIONS FOR OLD SCHOOL QUANTITATIVE CORPUS LINGUISTICS APPROACHES (1:30-3:00PM)

Discussants: Benjamin Lauderdale and Philip Resnik

COFFEE BREAK (3:00-3:30PM)

4) TRICK, OR TWEET? (3:30-5:00PM)

Discussants: Andy Eggers and Noah Smith  

19:00-21:30 Participant Dinner (by invitation)**

SATURDAY

COFFEE (Saturday, 9:00-9:30AM)

5) MEDIA FRENZY (Saturday, 9:30-11:00AM)

Discussants: Arthur Spirling and Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey

MORE COFFEE (11:00-11:15AM)

6) NAMED, FRAMED, AND TAMED (11:15-12:45)

Discussants: Paul Kellstedt and Justin Farrell.

LUNCH (12:45-13:30PM)

7) AND NOW FOR SOME COMPUTER SCIENCE APPROACHES (13:30-15:00)

Discussants: Hanna Wallach and Ken Younge

COFFEE BREAK (15:00-15:15)

8) TOOLS AND METHODS ROUNDTABLE (15:15-17:00PM)

(General audience reaction will replace discussants for this session.)

FOLLOWED BY DISCUSSIONS AT THE PUB

FULL LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

**Name** **Department/Institution**
[Amber E. Boydstun](mailto:aboydstun@ucdavis.edu) Department of Political Science, University of California, Davis
[Aude Bicquelet](mailto: A.J.Bicquelet@lse.ac.uk) Department of Methodology, LSE
[Andrew Hall](mailto:hall@fas.harvard.edu) Department of Govenment, Harvard University
[Andrew Martin](mailto:admartin@wustl.edu) Center for Empirical Research in the Law, Washington University
[Andy Eggers](mailto:a.c.eggers@lse.ac.uk) Department of Government, London School of Economics
[Arthur Spirling](mailto:aspirling@gov.harvard.edu) Department of Government, Harvard University
[Ben Lauderdale](mailto:B.E.Lauderdale@lse.ac.uk) Department of Methodology, London School of Economics
[Brandon M. Stewart](mailto:brandonmstewart@gmail.com) Department of Government, Harvard University
[Cheryl Schonhardt-Bailey](mailto:C.M.Schonhardt-Bailey@lse.ac.uk) Department of Government, London School of Economics
[Chris Zorn](mailto:ZORN@psu.edu) School of Law, Pennsylvania State University
[Christine Arnold](mailto:c.arnold@maastrichtuniversity.nl) Department of Political Science, University of Maastricht
[Constantine Boussalis](mailto:cboussalis@law.harvard.edu) Harvard Law School
[Daniel Diermeier](mailto:d-diermeier@kellogg.northwestern.edu) Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University
[Derek Thomson](mailto:D.S.Thomson@lboro.ac.uk) Civil and Building Engineering, Loughborough University
[Derek William Vallès](mailto:d.w.valles@lse.ac.uk) Department of Government, London School of Economics
[Ekaterina Kolpinskaya](mailto:ldxek2@nottingham.ac.uk) Law and Social Sciences, Nottingham University
[Erin Baggott](mailto:ebaggott@fas.harvard.edu) Department of Government, Harvard University
[Hanna Wallach](mailto:wallach@cs.umass.edu) School of Computer Science, University of Massachussets
[Jack Blumenau](mailto:J.Blumenau@lse.ac.uk) Department of Government, London School of Economics
[Jin Jian](mailto:j.jian@lse.ac.uk) Department of Methodology, London School of Economics
[John Gasper](mailto:gasper@andrew.cmu.edu) Carnegie Mellon University
[John Wilkerson](mailto:jwilker@uw.edu) Political Science Department, University of Washington
[Jonathan Nagler](mailto:jonathan.nagler@nyu.edu) Department of Politics, New York University
[Joseph Walsh](mailto:jtwalsh@crimson.ua.edu) Department of Political Science, University of Alabama
[Joshua Tucker](mailto:joshua.tucker@nyu.edu) Department of Politics, New York University
[Justin Farrell](mailto:jfarrel5@nd.edu) Yale University
[Justin Gross](mailto:jhgross@unc.edu) Political Science Department, University of Washington
[Katherina Holzinger](mailto:katharina.holzinger@uni-konstanz.de) Chair of International Relations and Conflict Management, Konstanz University
[Ken Benoit](mailto:kbenoit@lse.ac.uk) Department of Methodology, London School of Economics
[Ken Younge](mailto:kyounge@purdue.edu) Krannert School of Management, Purdue University
[Kenneth Cukier](mailto:KennethCukier@economist.com) Data Editor, The Economist
[Kevin Quinn](mailto:kquinn@law.berkeley.edu) School of Law, UC Berkeley
[Laura Morales](mailto:lm254@leicester.ac.uk) Department of Politics and International Relations, University of Leicester
[Michael Gill](mailto:michael.z.gill@gmail.com) Department of Government, Harvard University
[Monica Poletti](mailto:monica.poletti@unimi.it) University of Milan
[Nick Beauchamp](mailto:n.beauchamp@neu.edu) Department of Political Science, Northeastern University
[Nina Wiesehomeier](mailto:nina.wiesehomeier@googlemail.com) Department of Political and Cultural Studies at Swansea University
[Noah Smith](mailto:nasmith@cs.cmu.edu) School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University
[Pablo Barbera](mailto:pablo.barbera@nyu.edu) Department of Politics at New York University
[Paul Kellstedt](mailto:kellstedt@pols.tamu.edu) Political Science Department, Texas A&M University
[Paul Nulty](mailto:p.nulty@lse.ac.uk) Department of Methodology, London School of Economics
[Philip Resnik](mailto:resnik@umd.edu) University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS)
[Raymond Duch](mailto:raymond.duch@nuffield.ox.ac.uk) Department of Politics and International Relations, Oxford University
[Scott Blinder](mailto:scott.blinder@compas.ox.ac.uk) Compas, Oxford University
[Stefano Pagliari](mailto:S.Pagliari@lse.ac.uk) London School of Economics
[Thomas Daubler](mailto:Thomas.Daeubler@mzes.uni-mannheim.de) MZES, University of Mannheim
[Travis Coan](mailto:tcoan@law.harvard.edu) Harvard Law School
[Trevor A Cohn](mailto:t.cohn@sheffield.ac.uk) Computer Science, Sheffield University
[Valentin Gold](mailto:valentin.gold@uni-konstanz.de) Chair of International Relations and Conflict Management, Konstanz University
[Will Lowe](mailto:will.lowe@unimannheim.de) MZES, University of Mannheim
[William Allen](mailto:william.allen@compas.ox.ac.uk) Compas, Oxford University
[Wouter Van Atteveldt](mailto:wouter@vanatteveldt.com) Communication Science Department, VU University of Amsterdam

 

Leave a Comment